Skip navigation

Last week, CrazyKinux posted an entry about the new game WebWars: EVE. At the time, no one seemed to know what it was. I actually got a bit excited, thinking it was going to be an actual video game on one of the consoles or on PC. I started thinking about how awesome playing through the Gallente – Caldari war would be. Maybe it could have even had two parts that you could choose between. The first being the Gallente – Caldari war, the second being the Amarr first taking the Minmatar as slaves. You could play as either side in both conflicts. I think I’d pre-order that game right now if it existed.

Godlesswanderer said…
I’d love a game based on EVE. It’s got some pretty awesome back story to base a game on. Personally I’d love to play through the Gallente – Caldari war.

Sun Oct 28, 11:17:00 PM 2007

But unfortunately it wasn’t to be. It turns out that this new EVE-based game is a web game (I should have guessed by the name really) in which you fight for control of territory, but in this case, the territory that you fight to control are individual websites.
Even though this game is nothing like what I expected it to be, I’m still excited to play it. I hope that, like most web games, it is 100% free and will remain 100% free. There’s nothing I hate more (game-wise) than a game you play through a website makes some of the content only open to subscribers. That’s the reason I left OGame and Runescape (when I was about 13). Well, apart from the fact that those two games ended up boring the hell out of me.

If you are interested in signing up for the beta, you can register at the Sign-Up page on the WebWars: EVE website. I’ve registered for a beta invite so once I get the invite (assuming I get one at all) I’ll write up a review.
Until then, I found a few screenshots from the announcement at the EVE Online FanFest which you can see below.

EVE - The Battle for Google.com (by Stuck in Customs)

EVE - The Space Station (by Stuck in Customs)

EVE - The Toolbar (by Stuck in Customs)

3 Comments

  1. I agree that playing an RTS game of the Caldari-Gallente war would have been sweet. Still, it’ll be fun to kick your but of sites like this! =)

    See you in Beta!

  2. Haha we’ll see who’ll be kicking who’s butt. 😉


Leave a Reply

